Robert W. Kilroy, Clerk of Pender County Superior Court
Elizabeth H. Craver, Clerk of Pender County Superior Court

Pender was formed in 1875 from New Hanover . It was named in honor of General William D. Pender of Edgecombe, a Confederate soldier who was killed at the battle of Gettysburg. It is in the southeastern section of the State and is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean and New Hanover, Brunswick, Columbus, Bladen, Sampson, Duplin, and Onslow counties. The present area is 856 square miles and the population is 17,710. The County commissioners were ordered to hold their first meeting at Rocky Point. The act provided for the establishment of the town of Cowan as the county seat. In 1877 an act was passed repealing that section of the law relative to the town, and another law was enacted whereby the qualified voters were to vote on the question of moving the county seat to South Washington or any other place which the majority of the voters designated. Whatever place was selected, the town should be called Stanford. In 1879 Stanford was changed to Burgaw, which was by that law incorporated. It is the county seat.

Beginning at Rich inlet, on the Atlantic ocean, running thence up the channel of said inlet to the mouth of Foy’s creek, thence up said creek to the fork thereof, thence by a direct line to the junction of Old House branch with Island creek, thence down said creek to the north east branch of Cape Fear river, thence down said river to the mouth of Fishing creek, thence by a direct line to the junction of Black river with north west branch of Cape Fear, thence up the north-west branch of Cape Fear to the Bladen county line, and all that portion of the county of New Hanover lying north of said line be and the same is hereby created into a separate and distinct county by the name of Pender with all the rights, privileges and immunities incident and belonging to the other counties in the state.